Skip to main content

State Allotment Commissioner records

Identifier: 09.06


  • 1862-1866

Language of Materials


Conditions Governing Access

No special restrictions unless otherwise specified.

Conditions Governing Use

Copyright is in the public domain unless otherwise specified. We reserve the right to restrict reproduction of materials due to preservation concerns.

Biographical / Historical

State Allotment Commissioner established by General Assembly Resolution (#2) approved September 6, 1862. Governor authorized to appoint suitable person to assist allotment two Commissioners appointed for Rhode Island by the President of the United States to receive & disburse monies transmitted by Rhode Island soldiers belonging to regiments & batteries in the field for the benefit of their families (Acts & Resolves, 1862, Vol. 33, p. 122). First State Commissioner George B. Holmes appointed September 13, 1862 (resigned July 1, 1863). Succeeded by Colonel Amos D. Smith 3rd Additional paymasters & commissioners employed to process & receive funds or travel to the various regiments included Colonel John Talbot Pitman, Major William Munroe, Daniel D. Lyman & Henry M. Amsbury. Cashier at the Providence Office was Cyrus Dyer.


1.8 Cubic Feet


No accruals are anticipated at this time.

Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Rhode Island State Archives Repository

33 Broad Street
Providence RI 02903 USA